Cleaning Your Copy

September 9, 2010 paigewalters
Tags: , ,

Last week we had to take the NEWS U Cleaning Your Copy Course. The Cleaning Your Copy course is exactly what it says it is. It is an instructional course that helped me (and I am sure my other classmates) polish up on our copy editing skills such as grammar, style, punctuation, and spelling. From this course I did not particularly learn any new material, but rather new ways to remember when to use who/whom, lie/lay, laid/lain, misplaced modifiers and things of that nature. It is always helpful to have new ways to check behind yourself in copy editing so that you don’t make or miss any mistakes. I was surprised at the fact that I could learn more ways to remember copy editing rules. You would think that when you learn how to remember something that there is no need to learn anything else, but I found it extremely helpful to have new ways to decipher between who/whom, lie/lay, etc. I was also surprised that I needed to brush up on my punctuation skills because I did not do as well as I thought I should have. By the end of the course though, I was refreshed and remembered most of the things I momentarily forgot. I was not surprised that I did best on the spelling portion because I have always been a fairly strong speller! However it was nice to polish up on some words that are sometimes confusing such as stationary and stationery. I would like to know more about addresses, numbers/ages, and dates in sentence structures. I know the rules but I still seem to get confused on days and months that should be abbreviated, when hyphens should be inserted in ages, and what part of addresses are okay to abbreviate.

NewsU Cleaning Your Copy Course Link: http://www.newsu.org/courses/cleaning-your-copy-grammar-style-and-more

Entry Filed under: PRCA 3330,PRCA 3330 Topic of the Week

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Most Recent Posts

 
